Fritz Hansen Drop Chair
  • Fritz Hansen Drop Chair
  • Fritz Hansen Drop Chair
  • Fritz Hansen Drop Chair
  • Fritz Hansen Drop Chair

Fritz Hansen Drop Chair Aura Leather

Availability if not in stock accessories 2 weeks furniture 6 weeks
Color Leather: *
  • Black
  • Black Brown
  • Cognac
  • Walnut
  • Bright Red
Legs: *
Shipping Costs
You must be logged in

The Drop is now relaunched! The chair was designed by Arne Jacobsen in 1958 as part of his masterpiece, the legendary SAS Royal Hotel (now known as Radisson Blu Royal Hotel) in Copenhagen. The Drop was originally produced along with the Swan and the Egg, but exclusively for the hotel and was never put into standard production. In addition to the original design of pliable, upholstered foam, the Drop is now available in a molded plastic version that is especially relevant for modern interiors.

Can't find it! We can supply all products from Frits Hansen. If you know what you are looking for and it is not yet featured, please send us a request



CLASSIC LEATHER Chrome-tanned, top-coated, strong full-grain and durable surface. Fast to light. Colours: Black, Black-brown, Cognac, Walnut and Bright red. Thickness 1.4-1.6 mm.

Size Description

Height 8.5cm
Width 45,5cm
Depth 54,5cm
Seating Height 46cm

  • Arne Jacobsen

    <p>Arne Jacobsen (1902-1971) was trained as a bricklayer and graduated from The Technical Society's school in 1924 and Copenhagen Art Academy 1927. In 1928 he received the Academy's gold medal, but prior to this, when only 23, he was awarded a silver medal at the 1925 Paris World Exhibition - the first of numerous honours that became a natural accompaniment to his artistic activities, his untiring search and his brilliant conceptions, made manifest by many successes in competitions at home and abroad. His main works include: town halls in ?rhus, Søllerød, Rødovre and Glostrup, SAS-building (Royal Hotel) in Copenhagen, Munkegårds School in Gentofte, Toms Chocolate Factory in Ballerup, The Danish National Bank headquarters, a sports hall in Landskrona, St. Catherine's College, Oxford and Hamburgerische Elektrizitätswerke's administration building. In 1932, Arne Jacobsen began collaboration with Fritz Hansens Eft. A/S, and over a period of years designed a series of chairs which are now recognised as milestones in the development of modern furniture. They include "The Ant" (1951), "The Egg" (1957), and "The Swann"(1957). But he was also an innovator in other design fields, such as the tableware series "Cylinda-line" in stainless steel. Arne Jacobsen was a professor at the Art Academy, and received honorary doctorates from a number of foreign universities and academies. Cylinda-line was awarded the ID-prize 1967 by The Danish Society of Industrial Design and The International Design Award 1968 by The American Institute of Interior Designers.</p>
Go to top